Air Whitsunday

The next stop along the coast was Airlie Beach … a bit of a backpacker party town and the jumping off point to see the famous Whitsunday Islands.

We had thought a lot about how to best see the Whitsundays. Most people take a day trip out to its most famous beach (Whitehaven), which is said to be one of the most beautiful in the world. The problem is that you land on it at the same time as hundreds of other day trippers do … taking away from that “deserted, tropical beach” experience. People have told us that it’s like a locust swarm descending on a farm … apparently the beach turns into a wild mixture of picnic ground and football field within minutes. Probably the best option is to take a multi-day trip out on a sailboat, slowly cruising the many islands and getting to the popular spots early in the morning or late in the evening (without the day guests). But the weather was quite overcast and the forecast called for rain … which made it too risky to spend $1600 on an overnight trip (image what the multi-day trips cost).

So instead we watched the weather forecast very closely and I jumped on a scenic flight as soon as the weather looked clear for the next few hours. Anna called it an early birthday present for me and volunteered to stay behind with the kids.

I got lucky in that the floatplane was flying a few clients out to different resorts on the islands and so I got about two hours worth of flying (and a few water landings) for the price of one.

We went over the Whitsundays first (giving us the chance to see Whitehaven Beach from the air), before flying out to the actual Great Barrier Reef … which is quite a way further out to sea.

I got to sit up front and the flight turned out to be absolutely spectacular. You really need to be in a plane to get an appreciation of the vastness of the reef and how many islands there are.

A few more pictures here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/uwefassnacht/sets/72157633725538520

Thank you Anna!

4 thoughts on “Air Whitsunday

  1. Royal Cliff Pattaya

    Hello! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I needed
    to ask. Does managing a well-established blog such as yours take a lot of
    work? I am brand new to running a blog but I do write in my journal daily.

    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    Reply
  2. professional bodybuilder workouts

    Aftr I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments
    are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is
    added I get four emails with the exact same comment.
    Perhaps there is a way you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

    Reply

Comment

